The Colonial Revival house at the south end of Willard Place was the last house to be built on Hudson’s only private street. The two and one-half story house has a gambrel roof with three dormers. There are three-part Palladian style windows in the side gables. The cornice features modillions and a wide frieze with medallions and swags. Fluted pilasters define the corners of the house.The three bay façade is symmetrical. There is a triple bay window on the second-story over the entrance porch. The paired double sash windows on either side have dentiled crowns. The enclosure of the entrance porch is mid-20th century addition.The rear façade has a one-story porch that extends the width of the house, and there is a two-story tower at the southwest corner that would have provided a view of South Bay.
The house was built by William H. Traver for Charles, his eldest son and partner in the lumber company W. H. Traver & Son. The construction of the house, which took a year, began in November 1892. At the time the house was built, cabinet and interior woodwork was a specialty of the lumber mill, and the woodwork of this house, both inside and out, are an enduring advertisement for the firm’s capabilities. When the house was stripped prior to repainting in the 1990s, it was discovered the house was sided with cypress.
In its more than 110 years, the house has had only three owners. Charles Traver owned it until his death in 1954. In 1955, Traver’s daughter sold the house to Thomas and Julia Snyder. After Mrs. Snyder’s death in the mid-1980s, the house was purchased by its current owners.